The Lost Child

The Lost Child

"You must go to the Lost Child! You must rescue my son and bring him back to me!" A strange and unfathomable demand, uttered by an enigmatic Frenchman on the eve of Christmas, 1852 will cause Captain Tor Petersen and the crew of the Ellyan to embark upon a long and perilous voyage-a journey that will take them from the placid waters of the Caribbean and plunge them deep into the lawless jungles of French Guiana. There they will confront marauding natives, soldiers and escaped slaves, even death itself. At the end of their quest lies a fortune in gold and the realization of their dreams; and perhaps for Tor himself, something he has long sought but never found a thing more precious than any glittering metal. The Lost Child is a tale of romance and high adventure, based on a legend of the Caribbean, one that may indeed have its roots buried in truth. The story is set in a historic time period underscored by periods of conflict and transformation, including moments that will force each of the Ellyan's crew to confront deep and abiding changes in themselves-a challenge not so far different from our own era.

The Country of Lost Children

An Australian Anxiety

The Country of Lost Children

This book traces the figure of the lost child in Australia's history and imagination.

The Lost Child of Lychford

The Lost Child of Lychford

A finalist for the 2017 Locus Award for Best Novella! It’s December in the English village of Lychford – the first Christmas since an evil conglomerate tried to force open the borders between our world and... another. Which means it’s Lizzie’s first Christmas as Reverend of St. Martin’s. Which means more stress, more expectation, more scrutiny by the congregation. Which means... well, business as usual, really. Until the apparition of a small boy finds its way to Lizzie in the church. Is he a ghost? A vision? Something else? Whatever the truth, our trio of witches (they don’t approve of “coven”) are about to face their toughest battle, yet! The Lost Child of Lychford is the sequel to Paul Cornell's Witches of Lychford. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

The Lost Child

A Mother and the Son She Had to Give Away

The Lost Child

When she fell pregnant as a teenager in Ireland in 1952, Philomena Lee was sent to the convent at Roscrea in Co. Tipperary to be looked after as a fallen woman. She cared for her baby for three years until the Church took him from her and sold him, like countless others, to America for adoption. Coerced into signing a document promising never to attempt to see her child again, she nonetheless spent the next fifty years secretly searching for him, unaware that he was searching for her from across the Atlantic. Philomena's son, renamed Michael Hess, grew up to be a top Washington lawyer and a leading Republican official in the Reagan and Bush administrations. But he was a gay man in a homophobic party where he had to conceal not only his sexuality but, eventually, the fact that he had AIDS. With little time left, he returned to Ireland and the convent where he was born: his desperate quest to find his mother before he died left a legacy that was to unfold with unexpected consequences for all involved. The Lost Child is the tale of a mother and a son whose lives were scarred by the forces of hypocrisy on both sides of the Atlantic and of the secrets they were forced to keep. With a foreword by Judi Dench, Martin Sixsmith's book is a compelling and deeply moving narrative of human love and loss, both heartbreaking yet ultimately redemptive.

The Lost Child

The Lost Child

One bleak, late winter's day, Julie Myerson finds herself in a graveyard, looking for traces of a young woman who died nearly two centuries before. As a child in Regency England, Mary Yelloly painted an exquisite album of watercolours that uniquely reflected the world she lived in. But Mary died at the age of twenty-one, and when Julie comes across this album, she is haunted by the potential never realised, the barely-lived life cut short. And most of all, she is reminded of her own child. Because only days earlier, Julie and her husband locked their eldest son out of the family home. He was just seventeen. How could it have come to this? After a happy growing-up, it had taken only a matter of months for this bright, sweet, good-humoured boy to completely lose his way and propel his family into daily chaos. He had discovered cannabis and was now smoking it everyday - and nothing they could say or do, no help they could offer, seemed to reach him. And Julie - whose emotionally fragile relationship with her own father had left her determined to love her children better - had to accept that she was, for the moment at least, powerless to bring back the boy she had known. Honest, warm and often profoundly upsetting, this is the parallel story of a girl and a boy separated by centuries. The circumstances are very different, but the questions remain terrifyingly the same. What happens when a child disappears from a family? What will survive of any of us in memory or in history? And how is a mother to cope when love - however absolute, however unconditional - is not enough to save her child?

The Story of the Lost Child

Neapolitan Novels, Book Four

The Story of the Lost Child

Soon to be an HBO series, book four in the New York Times bestselling Neapolitan quartet about two friends in post-war Italy is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted epic by one of today's most beloved and acclaimed writers, Elena Ferrante, “one of the great novelists of our time.” (Roxana Robinson, The New York Times) Here is the dazzling saga of two women, the brilliant, bookish Elena and the fiery uncontainable Lila. In this book, life’s great discoveries have been made, its vagaries and losses have been suffered. Through it all, the women’s friendship, examined in its every detail over the course of four books, remains the gravitational center of their lives. Both women once fought to escape the neighborhood in which they grew up. Elena married, moved to Florence, started a family, and published several well-received books. But now, she has returned to Naples to be with the man she has always loved. Lila, on the other hand, never succeeded in freeing herself from Naples. She has become a successful entrepreneur, but her success draws her into closer proximity with the nepotism, chauvinism, and criminal violence that infect her neighborhood. Yet somehow this proximity to a world she has always rejected only brings her role as unacknowledged leader of that world into relief. Ferrante is one of the world’s great storytellers. With the Neapolitan quartet she has given her readers an abundant, generous, and masterfully plotted page-turner that is also a stylish work of literary fiction destined to delight readers for many generations to come.

The Lost Child

The Lost Child

In 1771, Mr Earnshaw returns to Yorkshire from Liverpool with a bundle in his arms. ‘As dark almost as if it came from the devil’, this strange apparition is taken into the bosom of his family and becomes the starting point of Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights. Almost two-hundred years later, Monica Johnson, a young woman growing up in a conservative family in the north of England, leaves her place at Oxford to marry a man from the Caribbean against her parents' wishes and then struggles to bring up their children as a single mother in Leeds. While Ben is popular, does well at school and embraces the popular culture of the day, Tommy is bullied and remains an outcast, as stigmatised by the origins of his parentage as Healthcliff was. Vulnerable and alone, Tommy disappears one day, demolishing the precarious family bond with an intensity matched only by Heathcliff's arrival into the Earnshaw clan. In the tradition of Jean Rhys’s Wide Sargasso Sea and J M Coetzee’s Foe, The Lost Child boldly re-imagines the origins of Heathcliff, and the manner in which he emerged from Emily Brontë’s imagination, to deftly spin tales of disparate lives bound by the past and struggling to liberate themselves from it into a haunting novel about migration, social exclusion and the difficulties of family.

The Lost Child

The most heartrending and gripping novel of the year

The Lost Child

A gripping, heartwrenching novel of love, betrayal and a long-kept secret. 'Captivating and suspenseful' Jessica Fellowes 'A truly brilliant and moving read. I loved The Lost Child' Karen Hamilton Her mother was the victim. Her father was the suspect. She was the only witness... Rebecca Waterhouse is just thirteen when she witnesses her mother's death at the hand of her father in Seaview Cottage. But what else did Rebecca see? Years later, Rebecca's daughters Iris and Jessie know their mother will never speak of that terrible night. But when Jessie goes missing, with her gravely ill newborn, Iris realises the past may hold the key to her sister's disappearance. With Jessie in trouble, Iris must unravel a twisting story of love and betrayal in her mother's family history. Only then will Seaview Cottage give up its dark and tragic secret... From the international bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE LETTER, Emily Gunnis's heartstopping new novel is the perfect read for fans of Kate Morton, Lucy Clarke, Louise Douglas and Kathryn Hughes. Readers and book bloggers are hooked and enthralled by THE LOST CHILD: 'A brilliant, emotional and compulsive read. Highly recommended! *****' Goodreads Reviewer 'This story grabbed hold of me and sucked me in. Heartbreaking, emotional, gripping, suspenseful and will keep you on the edge of your seat right to the very last chapter *****' Goodreads Reviewer 'I couldn't put this down... I was emotionally hooked from the first chapter *****' Goodreads reviewer 'Tense, powerful and a read that becomes insanely gripping as the race to unearth the secrets of what happened one night intensifies with each chapter. Without doubt one of my reading highlights of the year *****' Emma Crowley 'Past and present entwine to reveal a captivating story' Anne Bonny Book Reviews